Hearing Well vs Doing Well?

“You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me, yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life.” John 5:39-40

4d5238b9d429eabda90bac674f20f4dfSome of us, myself included, have a tendency to place too much importance in dotting every I and crossing every T of every conceivable doctrine. It is good to be right – Paul exhorted Timothy to contend for the faith – but it is important to remember that it doesn’t save us.

I have always had a burning passion for truth and good doctrine, but occasionally, I used to trust it to save me. For instance, instead of truly repenting when I failed to live up to the gospel in my actions, I would justify myself by telling myself that I was sound doctrinally and that was more important anyway.

The danger of this was brought to me by a really helpful talk given by Josh Harris at Together for the Gospel. He really opened my eyes up to the importance of the body of Christ in our personal walks and the health of the church. We need each other to maintain a balance of truth and good works in the church.

Consider this truth: There are some people who hear well, but don’t do well. There are also some people who do well, but don’t hear well.

Therefore:

Those of us who don’t do well shouldn’t justify our inaction because we hear well.
Those of us who don’t hear well shouldn’t justify our laziness to scripture because we do well.

Those of us who hear well should have compassion on those that don’t hear well.
Those of us who do well should have compassion on those that don’t do well.

Those of us who don’t hear well need people who do hear well to help them in hearing well.
Those of us who don’t do well need people who do do well to help them in doing well.

Listen to Josh Harris’s whole talk: http://t4g.org/media/2010/04/dug-down-deep-helping-others-build-their-lives-on-christ-centered-doctrine/

Leave a Reply

